Continuation of a Theme

So, dovetails are still on the bench.  I’m a little behind on the one-a-day schedule since the kids don’t want to give up being sick.  On with the pictures.

Below are the oak boards I ended with on my last post.

IMG_3441

The gaps are getting smaller and smaller.

IMG_3442

This view looks better; the joint is super tight.  This blue store red oak is way harder than the pine or poplar which I’ve previously used.  The chiseling was quite loud as well but the material seemed more forgiving.  I think I may have some scrap maple hidden somewhere in my wood pile.  Time to look for it.

After the oak, I wanted to get back to poplar.  This round in the poplar felt the best so far of all my attempts.  The tails also looked the best.  The pins were not perfect, but I think this may be the best yet.

IMG_3444
The tails looked better before I goofed the third one with my chisel.

The right most tail is a little goofy, but overall I think that is the closest to a usable joint I’ve cut. Oddly enough the pin board is slightly offset.  Not sure how that happened, but it would be an easy fix had this been on a real project.

There is one slight problem.

IMG_3445

The issue of the little split on the right.  Looking at the picture, the first two tails fit fairly well, but the angle on the right side of the third tail is off.  The joint, like the oak, is also very tight.

I think the difference on these two is I was really focusing on sawing on the waste side of the line.  Starting out each cut I was trying to follow the pencil line on top of the board and then come down the board.  That seems to be working better.

I have a small side project for my wife to build next.  She wants a box to hold the kid’s art supplies.  I was going to use box joints but I may go out on a limb and do dovetails instead. Another round of practicing and we’ll see what happens.

Until next time, have a good one.

Eat a peach,

Jonathan

3 thoughts on “Continuation of a Theme

  1. These keep looking nicer. Also, I think every one you’ve cut is a usable joint. We’re trying to get better and improve the appearance of our dovetails. Functionally though, with the exception of the split, these all hold two board together in a very strong joint. From what I’ve read/watched, back when craftsmen intentionally made dovetails that weren’t visible on the outside of a project, the dovetails were often wanky as heck. Lots of gaps. Of course, they weren’t hobbyists. They were trying to make money, and were presumably less focused on the joys of reaching for perfection.

    Like

Leave a Reply

