Finger Joints Part 2 or: How I Learned to Stop Worrying and Love the Joint

It was a rough past year but finger joints and I are cool again.

The best part was that it only took a week, an expensive jig, and well, that’s about it.  

Speaking of, the Incra I-Box is an amazing device.  Assembly and setup was quite simple with the included DVD and full color instructions.  After everything was lined up I was making great looking joints that same night.  And, I even pulled the jig off several times and started back without doing test cuts and got accurate results.  Highly recommend the I-Box.

Let’s look at some results.

IMG_3280[1]

 

This is the third run of test cuts.  The fit is snug with just a slight gap for expansion once glue is applied. If I was going to leave the joints exposed I could very easily adjust the gap out. I’ll try that next time.

Now that the joints were looking good I grabbed some stock to make an extension cab for another amp I built.

IMG_3314[1]

Not bad.  These boards were just a touch thinner than my two test pieces so the fingers are a little proud of the sides.  I forgot to adjust the blade height but a little sanding will fix this.

At this point I was out of lumber and went off to the big blue hardware store to fetch a lovely (or workable) piece of pine.  I went through 60-70 pieces of the finest 1″x12″x6′ pine boards the store had to offer and found nothing.  I switched to the 4′ length and after going through another 30 or so I found 2 mediocre boards.

Then it was marking, ripping, cross cutting, amazing finger joint jig using and now I have a box for my amp.

IMG_3315[1]

The amp was so excited it jumped right in.

After a little more work I now have three cabinets; 2 for amps and 1 for a speaker.  I have one speaker cab left to build but I need to get some more pine first.  I’m going to the orange store this time.

 IMG_3316[1]

Next is to fill in any gaps and knots, sand, round over all the edges, interior work, front and back pieces, then wrap them all.  Almost done.

Leave a Reply

