…The Aftermath

So Thanksgiving has come and gone and I’ve been busy finishing up the table leaf.  I was going write out a long post detailing what all happened but instead this short summary will suffice.

In short, it’s done.  I finished it the day before Thanksgiving and delivered it and the table at 9:15 pm.  Overall it was a great experiment in hand tool work that included planing one side by hand and edge jointing.  By the way, I’m terrible at edge jointing.  I finally broke down and used my brother-in-law’s sweet Powermatic 8″ helical head jointer.  Have I mentioned how much I love that machine?

I also put my new-to-me planer to work and am very happy with the results.  Like anything else, I’ll need some more practice in order to minimize tear-out but that is to be expected.

IMG_3246[1]

As seen in the above picture, the leaf doesn’t match the rest of the table.  The couple wanted to finish it themselves so I only sanded to 80 grit after using my smoothing plane.

After getting back to the house about 9:40, I had cheesecakes to make.  We had to replace the siding on one side of our house a few months back.  It was terrible work.  I had a few friends help out and in addition to feeding them during the project, I’m making each family pumpkin cheesecakes.  As of last night, I have 4 done and will make the last two tonight.

IMG_3247[1]
First round, before the oven.
As for what’s next, well, that’s interesting.  Delivering this leaf has me working on something else for the same couple.  It’s a completely different subject so let’s not infringe on the table leaf/cheesecake post.

Hope everyone had a great Thanksgiving.

Eat a peach,

Jonathan

 

Leave a Reply

